Looks

Paris outfit one: cape x fedora

cape from back - arc de triomphe

top half - place charles de gualle

full outfot from back no 1 choice

shoes

fulloutfit_side on


side on rainy

cape and hat from back

Hope you all had a good Easter weekend. I spent mine in Paris, this week will I will be showing you snippets of my Parisian experience and the outfits I wore. First up I am serving you up my comfortable chic travel to exploring outfit, where I channelled some western chic with a cape and fedora. A different look for me, I am not normally quite so laid-back in my style, but one I absolutely loved and worked fantastically for what I asked of it.

Travelling then able to go straight out and explore is a fashion challenge – especially on a rainy day. You need comfort and style. My answer to this is this amazing gaucho style cape from Topshop, layered over a leather jacket and tee. It was the perfect solution to this dilemma; you can snuggle up in it while travelling and it has a brilliantly laid-back chic look to it for exploring a foreign city in style. As a bonus it kept me warm and dry despite the torrential rain Paris decided to treat me to (I’ve included some rain splattered pictures in this post so you get the idea of just how much it rained!). After this weekend a cape has become my new travel essential! It’s also the type of outerwear that traverses seasons. Capes are here to stay so invest is my advice! You can shop the one I am wearing here and similar capes here.

I styled this with ripped skinny jeans from Zara, my Office biker style flat boots and a fedora, also from Topshop. This creates a relaxed look that worked so well with the cape. This combination kept everything really laid back, and mixing this and the pale ripped jeans and biker style boots prevented the outfit from being a gaucho style overload by adding a tougher edge.

So, my top travel to exploring style tips: Always go for comfort, you’ll appreciate it while travelling and this doesn’t have to mean sacrificing style, and check the weather report in advance, then wear layers that will work for what will be on the other end of your journey.

How do you style an outfit for a morning travelling and an afternoon/evening exploring?

Keep your eyes peeled for lots of great Paris posts this week, have loads in store for you guys that I can’t wait to share! The weather got better over the weekend so got more pictures as it went on.

ST x

Cape: Topshop | Fedora: Topshop (similar) Β | Leather jacket: Warehouse (old, but this one is a great alternative) | Jeans: Zara | Top: & other stories (last season – no longer available) | Boots: Office | Bag: Celine (last season, shop the SS15 collection here)

Photos by my mum, Penny McLagan who gallantly took on the job of photographer for me this weekend!

full outfit side on - rainy - arty shot

8 thoughts on “Paris outfit one: cape x fedora

  1. Not everyday we get to do fashion photoshoots under the rain, right? I salute you, girl! But well, it’s Paris..Can’t miss any chance for some outfit shots. Love how you breezily pulled up the fedora hat. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

