Looks

Breaking away from all black

full outfit - focus on jacket - edited (2)

walking away back of outfit - edited (2)

focus on draping of coat, walking in maze (2)

white jacket - edited (4)

full outfit o1 choice - edited (2)

I am already counting down the days before I head off to Paris in two weeks time and this is really beginning to show in my daily outfit choice. I have a lot of French influences in my style, in particular that classic love of black. However, it is all too easy to get stuck in an all black rut. Following a shopping trip with my sister where between the two of us we didn’t buy anything that wasn’t black I decided to explore ways of bringing more colour to my outfits and still maintain that Parisian chic vibe which I love so much. This little black skirt and shoes combination paired with layered shades of white and grey finished off with a bold red bag fits the brief nicely.

Β This is an easy and elegant way to branch out from the black safety net and add that pop that really makes your look stand out. Layering shades of white and grey and the statement accessories of the darker grey fedora and this cute little red bag focuses your eye on the different colours in the outfit. The result; what is still essentially a monochrome outfit jumps out at you, but the underlying Parisian chic remains ever-present.

What style rut are you in danger of slipping into?

I hope everyone had a great start to their week, and for anyone with Irish heritage happy St. Patrick’s day! Thank you so much all for stopping by, your support means such a lot. ST x

Coat: Asos | Jacket: H&M | Blouse: Zara | Skirt: River Island | Bag: Oasis | Boots: New Look | Hat: Top Shop

Photography by Sarah Feeney

street shot side on - edited (2)

6 thoughts on “Breaking away from all black

  1. beautiful pictures! the red bag adds such a nice touch of color and your hat is amazing too! ❀
    thesartorialcoquette.com
    instagram: the_ch1ara

    Like

    • Thank you so much! I had so much fun shooting this outfit in this location as well. I love this hat, it seems to just make that statement without any effort at all, as does the bag. Red is one of my favourite colours.

      I will have to check out your insta – I’m on there as @sparklythursdays – there’s more ootd posts up on there πŸ™‚ x

      Like

Leave a Comment

