Looks

Fun with fur

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

This week I wore my new faux fur coat to the hairdressers, prompting the comment from my hairdresser of “oh what a fun coat!” He’s right. This coat is the epitome of fun. It is a side of fashion that I love. It is enjoyable to wear, it makes a statement and it says something about the person wearing it.

The multi-coloured pattern in this coat is undoubtedly loud, but the neutral colours in it on their own would not be. All are gorgeous in their own right! There’s something about the combination of these that just turns heads. They are all very seventies inspired hues and work fantastically well together. This coat is a little bit of a work of art and I love it!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I paired this coat with an all black ensemble. With something this bold and jazzy it’s generally better to let the coat make the outfit. It doesn’t need to be paired with colour,plus the black allows it to really stand out. I developed a true appreciation of what black offers to an outfit from my year in France as a student. Black is a staple of the French woman’s closet for a very good reason; it’s elegant in all situations. You can’t go wrong with it.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

The black jeans are from Zara and are coated to get a faux-leather look. I love these jeans, they are slightly toned down from actual faux-leather but still add an edge to an outfit. I am a fan of mixing textures, the harsh edge of the coated jeans paired with the fluffiness of the coat works really well.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I can’t wait to try this coat out with different outfit combinations, nor to wear it out again. It’s also beautifully warm which is a huge bonus!

What’s your favourite way to make your outfits fun? ST x

Coat: Topshop | Jeans: Zara | Top: Cos | Shoes: New Look | Bag: Celine | Necklace: Thomas Sabo chain with Thomas Sabo and Links charms 

7 thoughts on “Fun with fur

  1. The best accessory for that coat is…your amazing hair. It “works” really well with the coat 🙂
    I think pairing the fur with all black is sexy. I would be curious to pair it with a light ensemble of winter white or beige. I think all white might be too dramatic. All chocolate brown would look great too. You nailed it with making it a monochromatic look save the coat which is that spice to an otherwise tame look of all one color.
    So just how many people have asked…”is it real?” It looks very convincing at least in pictures.

    Like

    • Thank you Loren 😘 I loved pulling together this look and the coat I may have to make my new favourite! I am curious to see what it would look like with paler colours, but I have a feeling I will prefer the black.

      Aww thanks, and to answer the question no the hair colour is not natural. The colour in the pictures is true to real life though. It’s very cleverly done by Headmasters salon who are absolutely amazing. The colour is not too far off my natural colour so it doesn’t look dyed. It’s a terracotta shade of auburn from the L’Oreal range. I never die my own hair and thoroughly recommend this chain of salons to anyone in London/UK. I do get asked this a fair amount as it is quite an unusual colour! Xx

      Like

      • haha! I meant do people ask if the coat is real fur you silly! I just assumed your hair color is real. You’re hysterical. Have you seen Memorandum clothing blog? It used to be called Classy Cubicle. I like to look at the clothes she puts together too, just thought I’d mention it. So…in J.Crew news…I’m waiting for this blazer to arrive, it’s sold out now and it was sold out before I got it and then it came back on the site so I got it, yippeee. I actually ordered it way back in November in a different color and was waitlisted and then the order was canceled. Then I had a change of heart and wished I’d gotten the other color, concrete, the color I now got. And so I would check periodically and it popped back on in my size. It’s item b0800, it’s not on the site anymore. This https://www.jcrew.com/AST/Navigation/Sale/AllProducts/PRD~B0800/B0800.jsp?Nbrd=J&Nloc=en_US&Nrpp=48&Npge=1&Ntrm=schoolboy+blazer&isSaleItem=true&color_name=NAVY%20HERRINGBONE&isFromSearch=true&isNewSearch=true&hash=row2

        I feel like it could go with a dark chambray and gray skirt, or navy skirt and navy check blouse, or white shirt and jeans. I have an argyle vest that is gray, navy and maroon that I could put under it with a navy wool a-line skirt.

        Like

      • Haha oops! I assumed it was my hair not the coat! The coat is faux fur, no-one has actually asked me that yet. I think they get so distracted by the colours they just never mention it!

        Thanks for the blog tip, I love reading other fashion blogs too and discussing outfits, that’s the main purpose of blogging after all! I will check that one out.

        That jacket is gorgeous! Little bit jealous! Excellent find. I’d be tempted to mix it with floral prints for a preppy but fun spring look. The maroon would look fabulous with that colour as well. It will be a inter-season item that one, maroon for A/W and mix it with whites, maybe even yellow or pinky floral prints for S/S…very good investment buy that one! I have something similar from Jaegar but it’s more of a brown colour so doesn’t have the same transferablity. xx

        Like

  2. hi again! Your website looks fantastic! The sparkle is new right? I’m not the most observant person but I feel it’s a different layout and I love it!

    The JCrew blazer came and horror or horrors it was USED, yes there was a stain on the lining inside not by the armpits though lol. So I called them and they were like return it or we’ll pay to dry clean it so I opted for the cleaning bec. I really love it. The little stitch in the slit of the back of the blazer was open so that was a red flag which led me to check the lining. Son of a B someone wore that sucker and sent it back OR it was a store piece that got tried on a ton and handled. How desperate am I that I’ll keep it lol.

    I just got this from Brooks Brothers to go with it. It will come on Wed. hopefully stain free lol. I thought $70 was a bit steep for a poly blouse when I have bought a silk bow blouse from them for less on sale but it matches and has that prissy look I can’t refuse.
    http://www.brooksbrothers.com/Bow-Blouse/SV00008,default,pd.html?dwvar_SV00008_Color=GREY&contentpos=14&cgid=red-fleece-women-apparel

    I have never heard of Jaeger. Is that a British brand? I recently discovered Boden though and got a few blazers from them on sale. What do you think of that label? I like the idea of a floral for the blazer, than you. I don’t have one but I’ll add it to the list!

    Have a good day!

    Like

  3. Hi! I love your comments, they always make me smile! Yes the site has had a major image overhaul, I spent my Saturday working on it, think it was worth the effort! So glad to hear you like it, always good to get feedback! There’s some exciting looks coming up this week that I can’t wait to share, will be working on the post tonight, so keep your eyes peeled!

    Oh no! That’s so annoying when that happens but I guess at least they offered to have it dry cleaned for you. It is a gorgeous jacket so worth it as they are sold out now. And that blouse is so pretty. It will look fabulous with black skinny jeans or even pair it with leather pants and contrast the prissy look of the blouse with a bit of biker edge, then black stilettos.

    Yes, Jaegar is a British brand. they so fabulous classics and their jackets are gorgeous. Boden I don’t really know to be honest, it’s a catalogue company and I have never really gone in from that style of shopping so not had much experience with them. Jaegar, Hobbs, Reiss and Whistles are all great British brands with gorgeous jackets and clothes. And no worries, I am glad you like the floral suggestion! ST x

    Like

Leave a Comment

