Looks

Casually chic

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Sometimes you need a practical, casual outfit, but you can still retain that chic look. In terms of footwear Converse All-Stars I find to almost always the answer to this.

The lightweight summer style I find to be the best sneakers to achieve this particular look. I have had this pair for years now and they have certainly achieved that traditional slightly battered look that suits a Converse best. I am not sure what I would do without these in my wardrobe for an occasion where I find myself running about a lot during a day. Not only are they practical and comfortable to wear, but they also just look fabulous. Less chunky than your traditional Converse, they allow you to maintain a sleek, elegant look while also being uber-sensible. Now that is what I call an achievement!

I paired these with black rolled up skinny jeans, a white top with lace trim and sweater plus a grey cocoon coat. Not to mention my beloved Celine bag. I kept the colour simple, this is a neat trick to keeping the elegance and chic in a casual outfit – don’t go overboard with your colours. After all monochrome has long been the epitome of chic, remember Coco Chanel had such a love for black and white for a reason. Whether casual or smart it keeps the outfit looking sleek and not overdone.

What’s your favourite trick to keeping a casual outfit chic? ST x

Coat: Asos | Jeans: Zara | Jumper: H&M | Top: Zara | Sneakers: Converse All-Star | Bag: Celine | Sunglasses: Ray-Ban

Photography by Sarah Feeney

Don’t forget you can follow Sparkly Thursdays on social media – just hit the buttons to the right or below!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Casually chic

Leave a Comment

