ootd / Snapshot moments

Tartan is cool

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Yes you read the title right; tartan is in fact cool. Today facing a busy day at work I stepped out feeling motivated and ready for the day by channelling my Scottish roots, getting out the tartan trews and creating this cool Britannia outfit.

I paired these black watch tartan trousers with an oversized white shirt for a comfortable, relaxed yet smart style. I rolled the bottom of the trousers up slightly as I love a cropped trouser look. That extra flash of ankle with this pairing brings a real cool Britannia vibe to the outfit. Well if you are going to commit to tartan you have to go the whole hog, there’s no point being half-hearted about it.

With this post I also wanted to show you how I style a weekday outfit differently for my commute to work in comparison to when I’m actually being at work by the shoes I wear. Every London girl knows that the tube is not a practical place for stiletto heels. So for the commute I went with a more practical pair of block heeled ankle boots. These work just as well as the stilettos I wore at work, but one is work and professional while the other is fun. The bonus: you are less the painful feet by the end of the day and there’s no heels stuck in grills incidents.

The faux fur coat I added to this works fabulously well with this outfit. The contrast of the old school glamour of fur paired with this modern, cool outfit is just perfect and adds a chic edge to it. Plus it kept me nice and warm on what was a very cold day in London. The Michael Kors watch works in much the same way; marrying the classic style of the fur and the coolness of the rest of the outfit perfectly. I adore this watch and am rarely seen without it. It’s the perfect finishing touch to this and many another outfit.

Have you braved tartan yet, and how would you style it? ST x

Don’t forget to follow Sparkly Thursdays on social media – @sparklythursdays on instagram and @sparklythursday on twitter – or just hit the buttons to the right, I follow back!

(I am sorry for the number of #stmirrormoments this week. My photographer is away on holiday and I wanted to continue to share my outfits so it’s mirror moments till she returns next week! I do have one post coming we shot before she went away so keep your eyes peeled…)

Details:

Coat: Warehouse, Trousers: H&M, Top: H&M, Shoes: Marks & Spencer, Boots: New Look, Bag: Celine, Watch: Michael Kors, Bracelet: This is a gold bracelet from a boutique jewellery store back in Shropshire where I am from, not sure they exist anywhere else

2 thoughts on “Tartan is cool

  1. I love love love plaid! I have three basic obsessions…argyle sweater vests, plaid blazers and fair isle sweaters. Are those pants the black watch plaid print? I have a J. Crew wool black watch plaid school boy blazer (what started my school boy blazer habit as I now have six school boy blazers, I’m addicted to that style. So plaid…black watch in particular, you can match it with so so so much. I pair that black watch plaid blazer with a Brooks powder blue with white stipes button down,it picks up on the royal that’s in there. I also pair it with a gingham really dark navy blue/white button down from Brooks Brothers red fleece line. And then I also like to put it with a dark blue chambray shirt. For a prim look you could do a white shirt like you did but with a bow, they sometimes call it a pussy bow which is a weird name for it πŸ™‚ So back to plaid…I was on the phone with my friend a few days ago and counted that I have five plaid wool blazers and one summer weight plaid blazer. crazy. I only have two plaid skirts that when i wear them not just one person said that I look like a girl in boarding school so I am not going to getting anymore of those. πŸ™‚ I only have two plaid shirts also. That’s all the plaid I got. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Comment

